top of page
jane wisely new.jpg



7.30pm - Millennium Hall
£25.00, £22.50 EMF Friends

A unique chance to hear the London Mozart Players (LMP) in a programme which will include Haydn’s Symphony no. 49 in F minor, La Passione and Mozart’s Symphony no. 40 in G minor, as well as the Mozart Piano Concerto no. 23 in A major, K488.


In memory of Paul Wisely.

Recognised as the UK’s longest established chamber orchestra, the LMP retains its trailblazing reputation to this day. It was the first orchestra in the world to appoint a woman artistic director (Jane Glover in 1988), it is the only UK professional orchestra to be managed operationally and artistically by the players, and was one of the first chamber orchestras to include education and outreach projects within its regular output. LMP was also an early adopter of the digital space, a necessity during the pandemic, and the ensemble continues to present a hybrid of live concerts and digital content to an ever-widening global audience.

The LMP performs on London’s premier concert platforms, including the Royal Festival Hall, St John’s Smith Square and Cadogan Hall, as well as in cathedrals and other venues across the UK. LMP has been the resident orchestra at Croydon’s Fairfield Halls since 1989, and the ensemble plays an important role in borough’s cultural life.

Jane Wisely specialized in philosophy at Cambridge and is acknowledged as having particular insight in linking philosophical ideas and musical expression.  She later enrolled to study piano under renowned Bulgarian concert pianist Lora Dimitrova with whom she continues to work.  Jane has also received guidance from celebrated Russian concert artists Mikhail Kazakevich and Elena Zozina.


Jane has performed in London at Steinway Hall, the Yamaha Centre and the Bluthner Centre.  She has toured to Germany as concerto soloist performing Mozart in Leipzig and Berlin.

Jane made her Fairfield Halls debut in the Lunchtime Concert Series and has been invited to return.  She has performed Ravel’s Piano Concerto for the Left Hand with the Whitehall Orchestra.  She is due to appear again with the London Mozart Players in a performance of Shostakovich’s Concerto No.1 for piano and trumpet.  

bottom of page