It is with great regret that we have made the decision to cancel this year’s Egerton Music Festival.

Even though we hope that we will all be able to move about with a little more freedom by the end of June, larger gatherings must surely wait until safety can be assured.

We hope we may be able to arrange a festival in mid-June 2021 and will circulate more details on our plans as soon as possible.

In the meantime, thank you for all of your support and stay safe and well.


In 1997 Egerton held its first Music Festival in order to raise funds for a new Village Hall. Hundreds of musicians and singers took part in a week of concerts and events that caught the imagination of audiences and performers alike. Six years later, with the Millennium Hall in place, Egerton Music Festival was established as a charity. Since then festivals have been held every three years, organised by a small group of enthusiasts living in the village. Since 2016 a weekend of concerts has been held in each of the years between festivals.

Over the years the chamber concerts and recitals have given us a chance to hear some first class musicians. Highlights must include, Isata Kanneh-Mason, The Sacconi Quartet, Duncan Chisholm, Freddy Kempf, Trio Berneray from Munich, the Baugé Trio from the Royal Opera Orchestra and Trio con Spirito. Soloists have included Gary Ryan, Ben Hancox, Camilla Pay, Elinor Gow, Jane Wisely, Robin Morrish and Paloma Kouider from Paris.

Egerton Music Festival is a registered charity, number 1104268

The Aims and objectives of the Festival as defined in its constitution are:

(a) to promote, improve, develop and maintain public education in and appreciation of the art and science of music in all its aspects by the holding of music festivals and other musical events in the Parish of Egerton, Kent and by other such ways as the Charity through its Executive Committee shall determine from time to time;

(b) to utilise in the locality the proceeds of the music festival to promote the learning of music in all its forms by young musicians, or such other areas as the Executive Committee shall determine from time to time.